Reading Labels

I received a text message yesterday which read, “Can I eat Pringles?” To which I replied, “Read the label.”

One of the most important aspects of the vegan challenge and any change in diet is understanding what is in the food that we eat and reading labels is the first place to start. It’s easy to avoid milk if it’s sitting in a glass right in front of you. But what about when it’s hidden in something processed?

Most processed foods have ingredients that you wouldn’t expect to be in them. I just learned that Red Vines (a type of licorice candy) contain wheat gluten. Fortunately for The All-Star they contain no animal products, but there are plenty of foods that he would like to eat that do. Below is a list of ingredients you may not know are not vegan. For a more detailed list visit HappyCow.net

  • Casein – a milk protein, found in non-dairy creamers and some soy cheeses
  • Gelatin – protein obtained by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of cows and pigs, found like lots of candies, cakes and puddings
  • Rennet – an enzyme from calves’ stomachs
  • Whey – a serum from milk, often found in baked goods

2 thoughts on “Reading Labels

  1. Leave it to John to ask that question. He likes his pringles. I give him 10 days at most on this challange. Good Luck Laura, I have faith you can do this.

  2. Haha. He accidently ate a cookie on the first day so he had to start over. So far so good otherwise. Thanks for the confidence!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.